Christ, Death, Life

GONE

It’s over a year now that I wrote this for a man I hold Dear but never got to put it out there.

I don’t know if it’s time yet, but I sure still miss him and hope his family members are fine and keeping strong.

What we will eat, what we will wear, colour, age, size, religion, gender…
These things we hold unto, forgetting there exists another world beyond this. Vanity upon vanity!! We will leave it all behind and what we’ll have left is our belief. Where do you stand? On the fence or the other side of the fence?

He’s gone, gone.
Gone, never to return,
Gone, never to shake me again
Or give me a smile or just a word,
Not even a “goodbye” came my way.
I remember the way he calls my name.
His first words to me and his first advice still rings in my mind
“Why Philosophy and not Law?”
That was the question that led to your advice
Of me doing Law for my masters and not Theatre.
The last thing I remember of him was
The RIO POP he gave me after all my ‘whynin’ 😁
His smile and laughter,
The spot he occupies in Church will forever be vacant
Because no one can replace you
Adieu!
Sleep well in the blossom of the Lord
Where gender, age, colour, or size is not a barrier nor a means by which we are judged.

Edited by AKINỌLÁ, Tolúlọpẹ́ Joseph TDB

Thanks for dropping by, please kindly drop a comment I will love to hear from you 😘. Criticism and corrections are also welcomed 😍.

Standard

Leave a comment